For Those About To Blog…We Salute You: John Snow

John Snow has been writing about music he loves for a over a year now over at the impressive blog he runs 2Loud2Old.

What inspired you to start writing/blogging about music?

It was a who inspired me and not a what. My wife thought I should write a blog as she felt I needed an outlet to help relieve the stress from work. She knows my love for music and thought that would be a great topic. I started looking into the idea and thought…she is right. So here I am.

What do you think makes for a good read for a music review?

A good read on a review is very subjective. For everyone I think it is different. For me, I want to read an honest take on the album. I like a little humor and I want to feel that the writer cares about what they are writing. It doesn’t matter if they like or dislike the album or even the band, I just want them to care. Some reviews I read seem stale and so disconnected…I don’t want to feel that way when I read it.

What has been the most popular post on your blog to date?

The most popular blog on my site right now is Melanie Martinez – Cry Baby – Album Spotlight.   It has had over 364 views to date. My daughter had fallen in love with this album so we bought on vinyl for her. I thought the package was so spectacular that I did a spotlight on the album. It turns out the album was really great as well. I never expected it to be so popular and it actually gets a visit almost every single day.

What was your live highlight of 2016 and why?

My highlight of 2016 for live shows was James Bay at the Fillmore in Charlotte.  My oldest daughter is a big fan, but little did she know that I had actually heard of him and had his album long before she discovered him.  She wanted to go see him live and I thought it would be a good show so we went.  He put on an amazing show and I figured out he was really talented.  I was also fascinated with how many guitars he used during the show.  You can read the review at the James Bay Concert Review.

You have a wide taste in music on 2loud2oldmusic, however what band(s) or album(s) do you keep coming back to?

I will give you one old and one new. The old band I always turn to is Def Leppard. If you read the site regularly you will notice that Def Leppard comes up a lot. I really love their album High ’N Dry and I catch myself listening to it all the time. One of the few albums I will listen to that is that old several times a year. I am also a huge Kiss fan, but the album tends to be based off the mood. For a new band, Needtobreathe is my favorite. I love their southern rock sound and love their Christian based messages. The album The Outsiders is amazing and the best thing to come out in the last 10 years. I actually started playing the album as I wrote this up.

Who are you musical heroes and why?

My musical hero isn’t anyone that is famous except to me and my wife. That would be my brother-in-law (wife’s brother), Ryan. He is in the music business and he has taken his musical talents and made quite a nice living off of those talents. He is a sound engineer, mixer, producer, song-writer, and self-taught musician. He has turned those talents into 3 Grammy nominations, but no wins yet. Why is he my hero, because he is doing what he loves and making a living off that passion. I would love to be able to make a living off my passion, but have not been able to do that…YET!!!

Any good rock ‘n’ roll tales to tell?

My brother-in-law could certainly tell some tales and I will save those for a post sometime down the road. For me, I don’t really have any good stories. I have met a few artists such as Train and Aldo Nova. The coolest experience might be getting to hang out at Southern Tracks Studio in Atlanta. The studio doesn’t exist anymore, but Bruce Springsteen, Pearl Jam, Train, Stone Temple Pilots, Outkast and many other artist have recorded there and it was cool knowing the history. I also was able to visit Pulse Recording Studio out in Los Angeles where Ryan worked with Limp Bizkit, Staind, Kelly Clarkson, Velvet Revolver and many other artists. Just knowing the artist that had been in there was really cool for me. For him it is his job, for me it was an unforgettable experience.

dl

Heard any good music lately?

There is so much music out there it is hard to hear it all, but there are few that are on heavy rotation. Bands like As Lions, The Wild!, Monster Truck are on constant rotation. On the lighter side, I am really enjoying Danny Gokey and MercyMe. A few other recent ones for me are Art of Anarchy with Scott Stapp, Love and a .38 and Ravenscroft. I am sure there is a whole lot more, but who has the time.

Anything else to add…

Nothing else to add other than thank you for the interest in the site and allowing me to take part in your interview series. I enjoyed it very much. The people and sites I have found have been the best part of this whole blogging experience. Thanks again.

Author: The Rock 'N' Roll Oatcake

A keen reader and lover of music plus of course my lifelong support of the mighty Potters, Stoke City! Enjoy running and the odd bit of fundraising.

2 thoughts on “For Those About To Blog…We Salute You: John Snow”

Leave a Reply

