AXEL RUDI PELL New BALLADS V Album Released April 21st on SPV

German virtuoso heavy metal guitarist Axel Rudi Pell, who has been a leading light on the European melodic metal scene for well over three decades and sold more than 1.5 million albums, is proud to announce the release of a brand new digital single (and video), ‘Love’s Holding On’, featuring special guest star Bonnie Tyler, on Steamhammer/SPV, on March 31st.

‘Love’s Holding On’, containing a stunning duet between Bonnie and long-time Axel Rudi Pell band singer Johnny Gioeli, is one of four new recordings included on ‘Ballads V’, part five of his successful ongoing ballad compilation album series, due out on April 21st. Axel states that “Bonnie Tyler only records songs she personally likes, so I wrote this tune just for her and she really loved it. She came to the studio and we recorded it within a couple of hours; the result is amazing!”

‘Ballads V’ follows on from his most recent studio album ‘Game Of Sins’, which charted high in the national album charts in Germany, Switzerland, Sweden, Austria and The Czech Republic, plus breached the UK’s Rock and Metal chart, (for the first time) when released in January 2016.

‘Ballads V’ also contains a sublime new 8-minute-long song, ‘On The Edge Of Our Time’, as well as Axel’s rocking cover version of Ed Sheeran’s composition ‘I See Fire’, the theme track of ‘The Hobbit’ movie; “I always liked that tune, but I wanted to hear it Pell-style, so we took a piano instead of the acoustic guitar and added a beautiful solo at the end.” A previously unreleased live recording of ‘The Line’, from the Rock Of Ages Festival in Germany, which Axel co-headlined at the end of July last year, is also included.

Among many other highlights are a live cover of Deep Purple’s mighty ‘Mistreated’, recorded during Axel’s monumental 25-year anniversary show in Balingen in July 2014, with Doogie White (ex-Rainbow, MSG) on vocals and erstwhile Rainbow keyboard legend Tony Carey also performing; “It was a 14-minute emotional ride for everybody involved on that stage that night,” recalls Pell. Mention must also be made of Axel’s atmospheric take on Neil Young’s ‘Hey Hey My My’, inspired by the legendary TV series ‘Sons Of Anarchy’.

‘Ballads V’ will be available as a Digipak CD (with poster), double purple 180 gram vinyl gatefold LP (with printed inner sleeves + CD in a cardboard sleeve), and limited (1,000) edition Boxset (containing Digipak CD, CD single, 5,000 mAh ARP branded powerbank, sticker and photo postcard).

Track listing Digipak
2) I SEE FIRE 6:02
4) HEY HEY MY MY 5:02
8) LOST IN LOVE 6:05
9) THE LINE (live) 7:31
10) MISTREATED (live) 13:55

Track 1: New song, guest: Bonnie Tyler
Track 2: New song, Ed Sheeran cover
Track 3: New song
Track 9: Live, previously unreleased

Line Up:
Johnny Gioeli – Lead and Backing Vocals
Axel Rudi Pell – Lead, Rhythm and Acoustic Guitars
Ferdy Doernberg – Keyboards
Volker Krawczak – Bass
Bobby Rondinelli – Drums

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s