Interview with SHARON LAZIBYRD

What made you want to start making and performing music?

I have always loved music and played the violin since I was a child, I had been performing in bands for years but it was the ukulele that my sister bought me for my birthday that started me writing songs. I started pretty much straight away and haven’t really looked back!

Who are your musical influences and why?

 I love music from across genres. Inevitably I am influenced by music from when I first started listening like Julian Cope and The Smiths. I think school choirs and singing as a child with my family at home also played a part. I particularly enjoy a good melody and I think that has influenced my songwriting. I also like to listen to music that connects with me and provokes an emotional response whether it is Joni Mitchell or Dizraeli and The Small Gods.

 sl

How is the current live folk scene in the UK? Are there enough opportunities for someone like you to get your music heard?

I think overall the folk scene is pretty healthy at the moment. There are folk clubs and also arts centres and acoustic nights. I think music venues in any genre are having a tough time and it is difficult to get well paid gigs playing original music. I am always looking for venues so any suggestions are welcome!

Has being on Bandcamp helped gain more exposure for your music?

Yes, it enables people to hear and purchase my music.

 wtil

When is your debut album out and what other songs/lyrical themes can we expect?

My next single Opium of the Masses will be out in Spring 2017 and my album in the Summer. The themes include time, mortality, love, delusion and happiness.

Message for your fans/anything else add…

I am overjoyed to have received my first national radio play in November 2016. To be included as part of Tom Robinson’s BBC Introducing Mixtape on BBC Radio 6 was awesome. I am overwhelmed by the positive reactions and fantastic reviews for What time is later? Thanks to everyone who has supported my music!  I am excited for the future, I am involved in some great projects this year, and I look forward to sharing my new songs with you.

https://www.facebook.com/Sharon-Lazibyrd-324663394401783/

https://twitter.com/SharonLazibyrd

https://soundcloud.com/sharon-martin-37

http://lazibyrd.wixsite.com/sharon-lazibyrd

Author: The Rock 'N' Roll Oatcake

A keen reader and lover of music plus of course my lifelong support of the mighty Potters, Stoke City! Enjoy running and the odd bit of fundraising.

Leave a Reply

