QUEEN – A Day at the Races

qadatr

I am a big fan of the shuffle feature on the iPod and Spotify (my first record deck had a Sony CD player purely as it had a shuffle button!), although I was thinking the other day I should listen to albums all the way through.

I will start with an album I didn’t like lots when I first got it back in the early 80’s from Hanley’s WHSmiths record department. I am a lifelong Queen fan and my first vinyl by the band was 1980’s ‘The Game’ as a Christmas present from my parents -still my all time fave Queen album to this day, along with ‘Sheer Heart Attack’.

Back in my schooldays when I first heard this album I was none too impressed by songs like ‘You And I’ or ‘You Take My Breath Away’ – the foolish youth! ‘You Take My Breath Away’ has one of the most heartfelt lyric and vocals from Freddie Mercury ever recorded.

Then you have ‘Tie Your Mother Down’ (a song my mum was not keen on mainly down to the song title!), complete with the slow building intro and of course the album’s big hit single, ‘Somebody To Love’. Also of worthy note are ‘Drowse’ featuring Roger Taylor on vocals and some divine slide guitar playing by Brian May. ‘The Millionaire Waltz’ again has Brian May excelling himself on the guitar playing with John Deacon providing a steady waltz beat on his bass.

‘Good Old -Fashioned Lover Boy’ is one of those good time songs Queen did so well in the 70’s , other examples being ‘Good Company’ and ‘Bring Back Leroy Brown’.

A must have album I would say now and one I definitely play more now than when I first bought it.

Author: The Rock 'N' Roll Oatcake

A keen reader and lover of music plus of course my lifelong support of the mighty Potters, Stoke City! Enjoy running and the odd bit of fundraising.

Leave a Reply

